Skip to content

Vlog it! Embracing Your Own Body – Are You Up To The Challenge?

August 12, 2010

From The Mommyologist :

It’s Monday, August 9th, and it’s officially time to kick off Embrace Your Body Week 2010!

“Too often as women, and in particular, as moms, we look in the mirror and put ourselves down on a daily basis.  We make comments about our bodies such as, “My thighs are so fat.”  ”I wish that I could lose my belly pooch.”  ”I hate my cottage cheese ass”, and so on and so forth.”

As you know those words could have come out of my mouth. In fact, in my last post I wrote about the importance of accepting your unique appearance vs. the cookie-cutter image of beauty that’s portrayed for us in magazines, advertisements, and movies. Accepting the media’s definition of beauty is to accept that you need to be fixed – follow this diet to happiness  or “you don’t have to look like you’re from the class of 1970″ just get Botox or cosmetic surgery. What is wrong with looking the age we are?

So I wanted to accept the challenge. I wanted to Embrace My Body and not believe that I have to look any other way but the way I do. Here’s my entry into validating myself and all other women and men for who they are and what they look like without a cosmetic “fix”.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    August 12, 2010 1:28 pm

    Cherry!

    You rock! You have a fabulous smile – the kind that is infectious – plus I’d kill for those dimples.

    You also have what those of us who are envious call a “dancer’s body”, probably from all that yoga.

    And btw, I’d embrace my own body if only I could get my arms around it ;).

    Best,
    Nicole

    • August 12, 2010 4:37 pm

      Thanks Nicole. Good to see you back here. And btw, let’s get together and we’ll both embrace your body. What ever it takes for you to feel it and believe you’re beautiful as you are. Hugs to you sweet Nicole. Cherry

  2. August 12, 2010 1:36 pm

    CHerry, my volume isn’t working so I’m going to have to fiddle with my computer and figure out what is wrong. But you are gorgeous, I’m so excited that you linked up to do this, and I can’t wait to actually HEAR what you are saying. Will be back later!
    xoxo

    • August 12, 2010 4:34 pm

      Thank you Erin. Pretend it’s a lipsync and it’s any words you want it to be…as long as they’re positive about you and me. BTW, Know the expression “got your back” well I’m pining to have yours. What’s Jillian having you do? Cherry

  3. August 12, 2010 4:09 pm

    You are amazing! Not only are you brave…but you’re smart in ways that get the rest of us paying attention and standing at attention. I agree with all that you say about the body that you’ve committed to taking care of, the smile that you feed from within, the eyes that you never let dim, and all the definition which by definition is the envy of any scultor!

    • August 12, 2010 4:32 pm

      Dawn,
      How kind of you to say. Not sure how doing this was smart (not saying it was dumb either) but I’ll take it. I’ll be looking for yours! Cherry

  4. Debbie Ketter permalink
    August 12, 2010 5:04 pm

    Hi there Cherry,
    Guess this is the only way I see your smile or hear your laugh these days. I’m not sure I am going to video tape my flabby belly or cottage cheese ass but I’m learning to embrace them just the same. I do like the fact that I have beautiful posture. Something I owe to genetics and of course YOGA. Hope to see you before I move. Love you, Debbie

  5. August 12, 2010 9:48 pm

    Cherry,

    I’m back! And got the volume to work—love those thighs of steel! I used to do yoga, but stopped. I should get back into it! Your vlog was wonderful, and you do have a beautiful smile and gorgeous eyes. So glad you linked up for this!

    • August 13, 2010 7:43 am

      Thanks Erin. When I looked at the vlog you did and read the challenge it felt, in a good way, like I had no choice. Cherry

  6. August 13, 2010 12:12 am

    You have to love a great loud, fun laugh!

    Clearly I need to give Yoga some more thought. Your arms and thighs look awesome!

    Your smile is beautiful too!! =)

    • August 13, 2010 7:41 am

      Tracie,
      Thanks, didn’t get out a full volume laugh (a bit of a guffaw) but they are fun – contagious. I fought doing yoga for years – it was too slow etc. but it has made a difference for me in many positive ways. Sometimes I think I do yoga to get to the relaxation part at the end. Cherry

  7. August 13, 2010 8:32 am

    Yay!!! Here’s to authenticity … that’s what REALLY attractive.

  8. August 13, 2010 3:57 pm

    You have an amazing smile and incredible cheekbones.

  9. August 14, 2010 9:13 am

    Thighs of steel!!! I love it! Isn’t yoga the best? It’s done wonders for my thighs as well, and I still cannot believe the definition in my arms. It’s also just been so great for my mental health and well being too. I feel so cleansed every time I leave a class.

    You are gorgeous and definitely have beautiful eyes and a beautiful smile too! Thanks so much for participating and for helping me spread this all-too important message to other women!

    • August 17, 2010 10:32 am

      Thanks again for hosting such a positive self-image challenge. We all need to feel good about ourselves.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

