Skip to content

Mission Accomplished|In The Winter Of My Life I’ve Grown Up

October 25, 2010

It’s true. I’ve grown up. I accepted it fully at Vision 2020:An American Conversation about Women and Leadership on October 21-22, 2010.

National Constitution Center

Actually it was quite fitting that the recognition of my true coming of age would be in the powerful  embrace of The National Constitution Center
in Philadelphia where all around me was the enthralling evidence of a birth of a nation.

It was also invigorating that the acceptance of my growth coursed through my body, mind and spirit while in the presence of extraordinary women delegates from 50 states and the District of Columbia who had come together to help shape the future of women’s leadership in the next decade. (At the end of the Conversation, the National Delegates return to their home states to mobilize resources to implement elements of the Vision 2020 Action Agenda.)

So What Happened?

I listened and talked with women who had founded a symphony, The White House Project and many successful businesses and non-profit agencies; also professors, college Presidents, Pulitzer Prize Winner, lawyers, doctors and yes, Indian – Native American – Chief and …

I was impressed but I never diminished myself.

I was awe-struck but I never struck my accomplishments down.

I was inspired without saying “I could never do that.”

There in the halls of history, I made history. I did not compare myself and find myself short. In fact, I didn’t compare myself at all. I recognized the unique abilities and contributions of each of those women, just as I recognized my own unique abilities and contributions.

No more comparison. No more stinkin’ thinkin’. “I ain’t gonna be a face in the crowd, you’re gonna hear my voice when I shout it out loud. It’s my life. It’s now or never. I ain’t gonna live forever. I just wanna live while I’m alive.”

Click below and join the sing-along with Bon Jovi and me. It’s my [your] life!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam Burzynski permalink
    October 25, 2010 4:56 pm

    Wow thanks for that dose of inspiration, Cherry! Put it into your heart you did. As I think the saying goes, you’ve got to take it out of your head, put it into your heart, before you ever see it in your hand. Instead of seeing to believe, you believe to see. I was singing, did you hear me? The National Constitutional Center is now on the must do list.

  2. October 25, 2010 7:30 pm

    Cherry, this is just wonderful. I loved these three lines and will keep them close:

    I was impressed but I never diminished myself.

    I was awe-struck but I never struck my accomplishments down.

    I was inspired without saying “I could never do that.”

    I’m forever impressed by how much insight you extract from every experience, your ability to make it real, and your freedom to be you. When I read your posts, I often think of Walt Whitman’s poem, “Song of Myself,” where he connects himself to every man (and woman). Thanks for giving so much without flinching! ~Dawn

    • October 26, 2010 11:26 am

      Thanks, once more, for your thoughtful comment(s) that consistently make me feel good. Cherry

  3. October 25, 2010 7:44 pm

    So bracing when we take a stand like this: No more stinkin’ thinkin’ – I love it! Congratulations on your shift!

  4. October 25, 2010 11:16 pm

    Just loved your blog on the Conference. I just copied it and read it to my head and heart with a great big…now hear this!

  5. Danielle Smith permalink
    October 26, 2010 9:18 am

    This is fantastic! What joy in owning your strengths, your expertise, your path…. So thrilled for you. You have inspired me….

    • October 26, 2010 11:22 am

      Thanks Danielle. I’m glad I could inspire you, we all need support from other people. I’m grateful that you and I are connecting. We both rock. Cherry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

